My very first take on Astrophotography

About two days ago, I had my very first take on astrophotography.  I have been fascinated with astrophotography for as long as I can remember and I have been wanting to try it since.  A week ago, a new meteorigical event, the Camelopardalids Meteor shower was announced.  And here in Dubai,  the Dubai Astronomy Group organized an event at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa for people to watch the very first Camelopardalids Meteor shower ever.

Along with a lot of people, I took off from work early to witness and photograph my very first meteor shower.  The expected meteor shower turned out to be not as expected and anticipated, there were just a few occasional falling stars that streaked through the skies that night.  It was more or less an average night in terms of falling star numbers streaking through the sky.  I personally saw with my naked eyes about two or three falling stars that night and I was lucky to have caught one or two in a single image.

I researched and googled how to shoot meteor showers and astrophotography in general and setup my camera accordingly.  I set my camera’s  intervalometer and fired away hoping to capture something in photograph.

Meteors near the upper left corner ?

Meteors near the upper left corner ? Nikon D3, Sigma 10-20mm, 20s, f4, iso 1600 (click on image to enlarge)

Since this was my very first time, I didn’t get my photos technically right, but I was lucky to have caught something!  Some people I know, both experienced and newbies like me, weren’t as lucky as I was.  This might as well be a beginning in another field of photography for me to pursue.

 

Leave a Reply

